Chief Master Sergeant Joseph N. Kimbrough

Chief Master Sergeant Joseph N. Kimbrough is the Senior Enlisted Leader, Air Force Security Forces Center, Joint Base San Antonio, Lackland Air Force Base, Texas. He serves as the Senior Leader for this Primary Subordinate Unit with over 386 personnel from 29 different Air Force specialties assigned to 8 geographically separated areas. In this role, Chief Kimbrough oversees the execution of policy and guidance affecting more than 43,000 active duty, guard, and reserve component personnel. He works parallel with the Security Forces Career Field Manager and MAJCOM Security Forces Managers serving on the Security Forces Executive Council, where he provides strategic perspective to the Security Forces Executive Council on organizing, training, and equipping the career field. Lastly, Chief Kimbrough advises more than 220 field Chiefs and commanders on matters of personnel management, training, organization, resource allocation, and Integrated Base Defense doctrine. 

Chief Kimbrough entered the Air Force in January 1999, and graduated from the Security Forces Apprentice Academy, Lackland AFB, Texas, in May 1999. He has performed in several leadership roles, both deployed and home station, at the squadron, and group levels. During his career Chief Kimbrough has deployed in support of Operations STABILISE, SOUTHERN WATCH, ENDURING FREEDOM, INHERENT RESOLVE, FREEDOM’S SENTINEL, SPARTAN SHIELD, and the RESOLUTE SUPPORT Mission. Prior to assuming his current position, Chief Kimbrough served as the Senior Enlisted Leader of the 18th Security Forces Squadron, Kadena Air Base, Japan.

2003 Airman Leadership School, Kadena Air Base, Okinawa, Japan 
2003 Air Mobility Command Phoenix RAVEN Course, Ft. Dix, N.J.
2003 Principles of Instruction, Kadena AB, Okinawa, Japan 
2009 United States Army Military Police Investigator School, Ft. Leonard Wood, Miss.
2010 Noncommissioned Officers Academy, Lackland AFB, Texas
2011 Associates of Arts in Police Science, Community College of the Air Force, Maxwell AFB, Ala.
2011 USAF RANGER Assessment Course, Creech AFB, Nev.
2012 Senior Noncommissioned Officers Academy, Air University (Correspondence) 
2012 Additional Duty First Sergeant Course, Edwards AFB, Calif.
2013 Senior Enlisted Joint Professional Military Education, Joint Forces Staff College (Correspondence) 
2013 Professional Manager Certification, CCAF 
2013 Security Forces Advanced Officer Course, Lackland AFB, Texas
2014 Integrated Defense Command and Control Course, Lackland AFB, Texas
2015 USAF Senior Noncommissioned Officers Academy, Maxwell AFB, Ala.
2017 Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice, American Military University, Charlestown, W. Va.
2018 Senior Enlisted Joint Professional Military Education Level II, Joint Forces Staff College (Correspondence) 
2019 Dynamics of International Terrorism, Eglin AFB, Fla.
2019 CENTCOM Theater for Special Operations Forces, Eglin AFB, Fla.
2020 USAF Chief Master Sergeant Leadership Course, Maxwell AFB, Ala.
1. January 1999 – February 1999, Student, Basic Military Training, Lackland AFB, Texas
2. February 1999 – May 1999, Student, Security Forces Technical Training, Lackland AFB, Texas
3. June 1999 – February 2004, Security Forces Training Instructor, 18 Security Forces Squadron, Kadena AB, Okinawa, Japan (Sept. 1999 – Oct. 1999, Aircraft Security NCO, Royal Australian Air Force Base, Darwin, Australia), (March 2000 – June 2000, Response Force Member, 879 Expeditionary Security Forces Squadron, Eskan Village, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
4. March 2004 – August 2008, NCOIC Protective Services, 89 Security Forces Squadron, Andrews AFB, Md.
5. August 2008 – February 2012, Superintendent, Resources & Logistics, Data Masked
6. March 2012 – November 2015, Operations Superintendent, 19 Security Forces Squadron, Little Rock AFB, AR (April 2013 – Nov. 2013, Antiterrorism/Force Protection SNCO, USCENTCOM CCJ3 JSO Forward, Undisclosed Location)
7. November 2015 – September 2019, Security Forces Manager, Data Masked
8. October 2019 – October 2020, Security Forces Manager, 380 Expeditionary Security Forces Squadron, Al Dhafra AB, United Arab Emirates
9. October 2020 – October 2021, Senior Enlisted Leader, Air Force Installation and Mission Support Center, Protection Services Division, Joint Base San Antonio, Lackland-Kelly Annex, San Antonio, Texas
10. October 2021 – January 2024, Senior Enlisted Leader, 18 Security Forces Squadron, Kadena Air Base, Okinawa, Japan (April 2022 – Nov. 2022, Senior Enlisted Leader, 378 Expeditionary Security Forces Squadron, Prince Sultan AB, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia)
11. January 2024 – Present, Senior Enlisted Leader, Headquarters Air Force Security Forces Center, Joint Base San Antonio Lackland, Texas
Meritorious Service Medal with six oak leaf clusters 
Joint Service Commendation Medal 
Air and Space Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters 
Air and Space Achievement Medal with oak leaf cluster 
Army Achievement Medal
2003 John L. Levitow Award, Airman Leadership School, Kadena AB, Okinawa, Japan 
2004 Air Mobility Command, Aircrew of the Year, Andrews AFB, Md.
2004 Air Mobility Command, Lt. General William H. Tunner Award, Andrews AFB, Md.
2008 Wing Outstanding Security Forces Support Staff Noncommissioned Officer, Data Masked 
2009 Distinguished Graduate, United States Army Military Police Investigator Course, Ft. Leonard Wood, Miss. 
2010 Commandant’s Award, Noncommissioned Officer Academy, Lackland AFB, Texas
2010 Distinguished Graduate, Noncommissioned Officer Academy, Lackland AFB, Texas
2012 Wing Outstanding Security Forces Flight Level Senior Noncommissioned Officer, Little Rock AFB, Ark.
2013 Wing Outstanding Security Forces Staff Level Senior Noncommissioned Officer, Little Rock AFB, Ark.
2014 Outstanding Responder/Recovery Award, Vilonia, Ark.
2014 Wing Outstanding Security Forces Staff Level Senior Noncommissioned Officer, Little Rock AFB, Ark.
2016 Wing Colonel Billy Jack Carter Award, Data Masked 
2016 Wing Lance P. Sijan Award, Data Masked 
2017 Wing Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, Data Masked
Chief Master Sergeant May 2019
(Current as of January 2024)